The Republic of Armenia hosted and coordinated the Bologna Follow-Up Group meeting XXVII (BFUG).

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the meeting was held in an online format, which was co-chaired by the Republic of Armenia as the host country and the Republic of Slovenia. The two countries jointly co-chaired the Bologna Follow-up Group for the period from July 1 to December 31, 2021. According to the BFUG regulations, the Bologna Process is co-chaired every six months by two EHEA member countries.

The Armenian representatives of the Bologna Follow-Up Group participated in the meeting.

At the beginning of the meeting a welcoming speech was delivered by the representatives of Armenia and Slovenia, as the co-chairing countries of the BFUG, and the Vice-President of the BFUG of Albania, as the next country to host the Ministerial Conference.

According to the RA ESCS Deputy Minister Karen Trchunyan, Armenia highlights its membership in the European Higher Education Area, being an active and full member of the Bologna Follow-Up Group. Armenia is currently working on full integration into the European Research Area. For example, in the framework of the European Commission's Erasmus+ Capacity Building ARMDOCT program, the ESCS Ministry together with the consortium program member HEIs and structures is reforming the legislative regulations and foundations of the tertiary higher education of the Republic of Armenia with the prospect of advancing research in Armenia.

During the online meeting, the representatives of the previous BFUG co-chairing countries presented the processes carried out during their presidency, and the Bologna Secretariat presented the current state of the process. The proposals were made by the European Students' Union (ESU), the Chairman of the European Quality Assurance Register (EQAR), and the representative of the Eurostudent Program.

The meeting was attended by 32 representatives of the member states (49 member states and European Commission) and advisory board members (Council of Europe (CoE), the UNESCO, the European University Association (EUA), European Association of Institutions in Higher Education (EURASHE), European Students Union (ESU), European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education (ENQA), etc.).

Note that the BFUG Board is an advisory committee, founded to support the BFUG and to foster the efficiency of the EHEA management, and ensure its continuity. The Council's responsibilities include the processes of successful implementation, coordination and control of the work program.